School Governance

The school is a registered charity and also a Limited Company by guarantee. The Governors are responsible for the management of the school and upholding the direction the original trust deed. They decide on overall direction and strategy of the provision, including plans for development. All Governors serve a four year tenure with an option to stay for a further four years. The board is made up of Quaker representative Governors, parent Governors, Local authority and co- opted members along with representation from the school.

The Quaker members are nominated and appointed through Quakers in Yorkshire (for more information please visit and are all Directors of the company.

Two parent representatives are required. To be eligible they have to be a parent at the time of election and serve for a period of four years. When a new parent representative is needed the Head seek nominations from the full parental body at that time (these can be self-nominated) with applicants providing a resume highlighting their skills and personal interests and indicating why they would like to serve. If more nominations are received than there are vacant positions a ballot will be held.

There is also a requirement for two local authority Governors who will be appointed by North Yorkshire County Council.  Other co- opted Governors may be appointed by the Board to add expertise in specific areas as the need arises. The school management team is represented by the Head teacher and the Bursar acts as Clerk to the Governors and is also currently company secretary, The staff are represented by the staff Governor.

The Board appoint a Chair (Clerk) who must be a Quaker, a deputy chair and a Treasurer from within its membership. Appointments in these positions are for four years, and a second term of four years may be served if supported by the Board.

All Governors have to be DBS checked (the Disclosure and Barring Service provides a criminal record check for adults working with children).

All governors follow an induction program that covers basic governance, safeguarding and the aims and objectives of the school. Along with the school provision, nature of the students and an introduction to the whole staff team and their roles and responsibilities.

The members of the School Committee (Governors) are:

First Name Last Name Type of Governor Specialist position Committee Business Interest
Ruth McTighe Trustees appointed by Quakers in Yorkshire

(The Religious Society of Friends)


Safeguarding Link Governor

 Education Retired Pediatrician
Digby Swift Trustees appointed by Quakers in Yorkshire

(The Religious Society of Friends)

Retired Doctor
John Margham Trustees appointed by Quakers in Yorkshire

(The Religious Society of Friends)

Academic link Governor  Education Teacher
John Littlefair Trustees appointed by Quakers in Yorkshire

(The Religious Society of Friends)

Residential link Governor


 Education Retired Teacher
Stefan Lewicki Trustees appointed by Quakers in Yorkshire

(The Religious Society of Friends)

SEN link Governor  Resources Retired Teacher
Sally Burton Co-opted member Health and Safety link Governor

Career link Governor

 Education Retired Manager Social Care
Daniel Hunter Parent Governor


Quality of Life link Governor Resources
Carl Wright Parent Governor Resources
Simon Bannister Representative Governor Headteacher
Sue Jones Representative Governor Bursar/Company Secretary
Aisling Hyland Representative Governor Staff Representative
Nigel Knapton Representative Governor County Councillor
Vacant Representative Governor County Councillor


The full Governing body is concerned with policy, planning and decision making and meets once a term. It receives reports and recommendations from five sub-committees, Education, Resources, Strategy and Development, Beyond Breckenbrough, and Marketing.

If you would like to contact the Chair of Governors, please email  [email protected].  Or write by post to, Chair of Governors, Breckenbrough School, Sandhutton, Thirsk, YO7 4EN